USA: Trump officials weigh adding more countries to travel ban list: report

October 31, 2019


The Trump administration is considering adding more countries to its travel ban list, an immigration measure taken by the Trump Administration that has sparked outrage from many Americans. 

The contemplation stems from inter-agency discussions revolving around nations that do not comply with digital document and information sharing, a topic that is a focal point for President Trump.

An official told the news network that the goal would be to “bring governments into compliance by using the power of access to the United States.” Reportedly, less than five countries are being considered.ADVERTISEMENT

Trump and his administration have long argued that the travel ban is essential to national security, but critics of the bill say that it targets countries that have large populations of Muslim citizens.

Currently, the list includes Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea. 

The ban came into effect in 2018, when the Supreme Court upheld Trump’s third version of the order.

The Department of Homeland Security consistently assesses the countries on the list and their compliance with the rules of the order. For instance, Chad was taken off the list after the White House reported that the African country had improved its security measures, according to CNN.

As of mid-September, a reported 31,000 people had been denied entry into the U.S. due to the ban.

Edward Ramotowski, deputy assistant secretary for visa services in the Bureau of Consular Affairs, told CNN that more than 7,600 people have received DHS waivers allowing them to circumvent the order and enter the country.

Congressional Democrats have continuously pushed back against the policy. 

“The Muslim ban has not made us safer,” Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.) said at a House hearing on the ban in September.

Nadler, at the time, continued: “It has weakened our standing in the world and runs contrary to our country’s moral and philosophical foundation. The United States has always been, and must continue to be, a place that welcomes and embraces people of all religions and nationalities.”

House Democrats introduced a bill known as the “No Ban Act,” but the provision is not expected to pass a GOP-controlled Senate.

The Hill has reached out to the White House and DHS for comment.

Source: The Hill

What do you think?

12 Points
Upvote Downvote


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings



US declares ‘resounding victory’ over India in WTO export subsidies dispute

USA: Trump may read summary of Ukraine call in ‘fireside chat’: interview